Book Review: The Girl in Times Square by Paullina Simons

The Girl in Times Square... Book Description: Lily's life is turned upside down with the disappearance of her flat mate, incredible revelations about her family and a personal discovery, all of which will affect her forever. What if everything you believed about your life was a lie? Meet Lily Quinn. She is broke, struggling to … Continue reading Book Review: The Girl in Times Square by Paullina Simons

Book Review: Skylarking by Kate Mildenhall

Skylarking... Book Description: Kate and Harriet are best friends, growing up together on an isolated Australian cape in the 1880s. As daughters of the lighthouse keepers, the two girls share everything, until a fisherman, McPhail, arrives in their small community. When Kate witnesses the desire that flares between him and Harriet, she is torn by … Continue reading Book Review: Skylarking by Kate Mildenhall

Book Review: Dear Life by Meghan Quinn

Dear Life... Book Description: Four lives. Four stories. Four sets of letters. Four brave souls in need of guidance while facing life's greatest challenges. The anonymously published Dear Life program is designed to help them step outside of their comfort zones, face their obstacles, and relinquish their demons...and prove their existence. With their lives teetering … Continue reading Book Review: Dear Life by Meghan Quinn

Book Review: The Golden Child by Wendy James

The Golden Child... Book Description: Can bad children happen to good mothers? A totally absorbing novel, for readers of Liane Moriarty, Lionel Shriver and Christos Tsiolkas. Blogger Lizzy's life is buzzing, happy, normal. Two gorgeous children, a handsome husband, destiny under control. For her real-life alter-ego Beth, things are unravelling. Tensions are simmering with her … Continue reading Book Review: The Golden Child by Wendy James

Book Review: The Missing Pieces of Us by Fleur McDonald

The Missing Pieces of Us... Book Description: Sometimes you have to resolve the past before you can face the future. The moving and heart-warming new novel from Fleur McDonald. Lauren Ramsey was adopted at birth. Now a teacher, her mantra is to never let a child fall through the cracks. But she's so concerned about … Continue reading Book Review: The Missing Pieces of Us by Fleur McDonald

See What I Have Done: The Lizzie Borden Mystery

A great interview with Sarah Schmidt, author of See What I Have Done. This novel was my top pick in my latest Historical Fiction Round Up for the Australian Women Writers Challenge. It’s an excellent novel that still haunts me, even two weeks after finishing. I love how Sarah details the way Lizzie Borden ‘visited’ her through her dreams. What a unique source of inspiration!

Good Reading Magazine

Lizzie Borden took an axe

And gave her mother forty whacks,

When she saw what she had done,

She gave her father forty-one.

Sarah Schmidt found out about axe murderess Lizzie Borden when a pamphlet fell out from between books at the second-hand bookshop where she was working. Consciously, she ignored the pamphlet – but Lizzie lurked in her subconscious and re-emerged in Sarah’s dreams. The librarian was compelled to write about Lizzie, and after 11 years See What I Have Done, Sarah’s debut novel based around the murder of Lizzie’s father and stepmother, came to be. We asked the author about reconciling fact with fiction, her terrifying research, and the time one of her siblings tricked Sarah into thinking that they had sustained a grievous injury.

seewhat.jpg

The Lizzie Borden case has been heavily scrutinised for over a century. What about it was so compelling to you? 

Although the…

View original post 1,663 more words

The Australian Women Writers Challenge 2017: 20 Books in 16 Weeks

Last year, I participated in a reading challenge titled: The Australian Women Writers Challenge  The idea of the challenge is to read a nominated amount of books written by Australian women and to then review and share those reviews with the #aww2016 across your social media platforms. There is also a database on the AWW … Continue reading The Australian Women Writers Challenge 2017: 20 Books in 16 Weeks

Book Review: The Chocolate Promise by Josephine Moon

The Chocolate Promise... Book Description: Christmas Livingstone has 10 rules for happiness. Nurturing the senses every day, doing what you love, and sharing joy with others are some of the rules but the most important for her is number 10 - 'Absolutely no romantic relationships'. Her life is good. In her enchantingly seductive shop, The … Continue reading Book Review: The Chocolate Promise by Josephine Moon