Quick Shots Book Review: The Cry (TV tie-in) by Helen FitzGerald

The Cry... About the Book: Coming to ABC TV, the 4-part BBC TV drama, The Cry by Helen FitzGerald brings a parent's worst nightmare to vivid life. When a baby goes missing on a lonely roadside in Australia, it sets off a police investigation that will become a media sensation and dinner-table talk across the … Continue reading Quick Shots Book Review: The Cry (TV tie-in) by Helen FitzGerald

New Release Book Review: The Thief of Light by Bernard Schaffer

The Thief of Light... About the Book: ‘It was one thing to fantasize about evil, to reach into the darkness and play with it a little . . .’ Rookie cop Carrie Santero has always been fascinated by serial killers. As a teenager, she wrote a letter to Charles Manson in prison - and received … Continue reading New Release Book Review: The Thief of Light by Bernard Schaffer

Sunday Spotlight with Janet Lee — Australian Women Writers Challenge Blog

More of an indepth chat today over at the Australian Women Writers Challenge blog with UQP author Janet Lee about her recent release, The Killing of Louisa. Welcome to Sunday Spotlight. Our guest today is Janet Lee, whose novel The Killing of Louisa was recently released by UQP. What was it about Louisa Collins that … Continue reading Sunday Spotlight with Janet Lee — Australian Women Writers Challenge Blog

New Release Book Review: The Sunday Girl by Pip Drysdale

The Sunday Girl... About the Book: ‘Some love affairs change you forever. Someone comes into your orbit and swivels you on your axis, like the wind working on a rooftop weather vane. And when they leave, as the wind always does, you are different; you have a new direction. And it’s not always north.’ Any … Continue reading New Release Book Review: The Sunday Girl by Pip Drysdale

New Release Book Review: Find You in the Dark by Nathan Ripley

Find You In The Dark... About the Book: In this chilling and disquieting debut thriller perfect for fans of Caroline Kepnes’s Hidden Bodies and Jeff Lindsay’s Dexter series, a family man with a habit of digging up the past catches the attention of a serial killer who wants anything but his secrets uncovered. For years, … Continue reading New Release Book Review: Find You in the Dark by Nathan Ripley

Book A Day: The Prophet by Michael Koryta

Day 6: The Prophet This is the one, the novel that made me become so fussy about psychological thrillers, setting the bar so high, it's almost impossible that another one will ever meet it, much less surpass it. The Prophet is insanely brilliant and truly terrifying. Atmospheric in its setting with authentic small town characterisation … Continue reading Book A Day: The Prophet by Michael Koryta

New Release Book Review: Invitation to a Bonfire by Adrienne Celt

Invitation to a Bonfire... About the Book: A seductive, sensual and sinister love triangle set in 1930s America and inspired by the infamous Nabokov marriage. Zoya Andropova, a young Russian refugee, finds herself in an elite New Jersey boarding school. Having lost her family, her home and her sense of purpose, Zoya struggles to belong, … Continue reading New Release Book Review: Invitation to a Bonfire by Adrienne Celt

New Release Book Review: Into the Night by Sarah Bailey

Into the Night… About the Book: Sarah Bailey's acclaimed debut novel The Dark Lake was a bestseller around the world and Bailey's taut and suspenseful storytelling earned her fitting comparisons with Gillian Flynn and Paula Hawkins. Into the Night is her stunning new crime novel featuring the troubled and brilliant Detective Sergeant Gemma Woodstock. This … Continue reading New Release Book Review: Into the Night by Sarah Bailey