Book Review: The Last Adventure of Napoleon Sunshine by Pascal Ruter

The Last Adventure of Napoleon Sunshine... About the Book: Set in Paris, a quirky novel about an inseparable grandfather and grandson who embark on a crazy adventure before life changes for good. For fans of THE KEEPER OF LOST THINGS and THREE THINGS ABOUT ELSIE. At the age of eighty-five my grandfather Napoleon decided he … Continue reading Book Review: The Last Adventure of Napoleon Sunshine by Pascal Ruter

Book Review: The Bride Test by Helen Hoang

The Bride Test… About the Book: From the critically acclaimed author of The Kiss Quotient comes a romantic novel about love that crosses international borders and all boundaries of the heart... Khai Diep has no feelings. Well, he feels irritation when people move his things or contentment when ledgers balance down to the penny, but … Continue reading Book Review: The Bride Test by Helen Hoang

Book Review: The Sparkle Pages by Meg Bignell – #DNF

The Sparkle Pages... About the Book: A wonderfully original and heartfelt comic novel about one woman's mission to reignite the passion in her marriage - and rediscover herself. ‘Is marriage just a series of texts about where the children are and whether we need milk until one of you dies?’ Susannah Parks – wife, mother, … Continue reading Book Review: The Sparkle Pages by Meg Bignell – #DNF

New Release Book Review: How to be Second Best by Jessica Dettmann

How to be Second Best… About the Book: A hilarious and heart-warming debut that captures the dramas, delights and delirium of modern parenting. This is Marian Keyes meets Allison Pearson, with a dash of Caitlin Moran. Going from one child to two is never all that easy for a family, but when Emma's husband simultaneously … Continue reading New Release Book Review: How to be Second Best by Jessica Dettmann

Book Review: The Beguiled by Thomas Cullinan

The Beguiled… About the Book: A classic slice of Southern Gothic, shot through with psychological suspense. When an injured Union soldier is found in the Virginia woods as the Civil War rages, he is brought to the nearby Miss Martha Farnsworth Seminary for Young Ladies to recover. For the sheltered girls and their teachers, the … Continue reading Book Review: The Beguiled by Thomas Cullinan

New Release Book Review: The Year of the Farmer by Rosalie Ham

The Year of the Farmer… About the Book: In a quiet farming town somewhere in country New South Wales, war is brewing. The last few years have been punishingly dry, especially for the farmers, but otherwise, it's all Neralie Mackintosh's fault. If she'd never left town then her ex, the hapless but extremely eligible Mitchell … Continue reading New Release Book Review: The Year of the Farmer by Rosalie Ham

New Release Book Review: The Single Ladies of Jacaranda Retirement Village by Joanna Nell

The Single Ladies of Jacaranda Retirement Village… About the Book: Joanna Nell's life-affirming debut is a moving, funny, heart-warming tale of love and community in the spirit of The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry and Grace and Frankie. The life of 79-year-old pensioner PEGGY SMART is as beige as the decor in her retirement village. … Continue reading New Release Book Review: The Single Ladies of Jacaranda Retirement Village by Joanna Nell

New Release Book Review: Nine Perfect Strangers by Liane Moriarty

Nine Perfect Strangers… About the Book: The retreat at health and wellness resort Tranquillum House promises total transformation. Nine stressed city dwellers are keen to drop their literal and mental baggage, and absorb the meditative ambience while enjoying their hot stone massages. Watching over them is the resort's director, a woman on a mission to … Continue reading New Release Book Review: Nine Perfect Strangers by Liane Moriarty