Book Review: The Dressmaker’s Secret by Rosalie Ham

The Dressmaker’s Secret… About the Book: It is 1953 and Melbourne society is looking forward to coronation season, the grand balls and celebrations for the young queen-to-be. Tilly Dunnage is, however, working for a pittance in a second-rate Collins Street salon. Her talents go unappreciated, and the madame is a bully and a cheat, but … Continue reading Book Review: The Dressmaker’s Secret by Rosalie Ham

Author Talks: Nicholas J. Johnson – You can’t make this stuff up

I tell people that I write fiction because I can’t be trusted with the truth. After all, I’ve worked as a professional magician for almost thirty years. My entire life has been dedicated to fabrication. I’m not just a regular magician either. I play an ‘honest con man’ swindling audiences with card cheating demonstrations and … Continue reading Author Talks: Nicholas J. Johnson – You can’t make this stuff up

Book Review: House of Trelawney by Hannah Rothschild

House of Trelawney... About the Book: The seat of the Trelawney family for over 800 years, Trelawney Castle was once the jewel of the Cornish coast. Each successive Earl spent with abandon, turning the house and grounds into a sprawling, extravagant palimpsest of wings, turrets and follies. But recent generations have been better at spending … Continue reading Book Review: House of Trelawney by Hannah Rothschild

Book Review: Maggie’s Going Nowhere by Rose Hartley

Maggie’s Going Nowhere… About the Book: Maggie’s Going Nowhere is a fierce and funny debut introducing a thoroughly relatable and offbeat heroine. If you enjoy Fleabag, you'll adore Maggie! 'A compulsive and hilarious read. In Maggie, Hartley has created one of those indelible characters of whom we must thoroughly disapprove and yet cannot help but … Continue reading Book Review: Maggie’s Going Nowhere by Rose Hartley

#BRPreview Book Review: Maggie’s Going Nowhere by Rose Hartley

Maggie’s Going Nowhere… About the Book: Maggie’s Going Nowhere is a fierce and funny debut introducing a thoroughly relatable and offbeat heroine. If you enjoy Fleabag, you'll adore Maggie! 'A compulsive and hilarious read. In Maggie, Hartley has created one of those indelible characters of whom we must thoroughly disapprove and yet cannot help but … Continue reading #BRPreview Book Review: Maggie’s Going Nowhere by Rose Hartley

Book Review: I Have a Bed Made of Buttermilk Pancakes by Jaclyn Moriarty

I Have a Bed Made of Buttermilk Pancakes... About the Book: A fairy-tale for grown-ups. The Zing family lives in a misguided world of spell books, flying beach umbrellas, and state-of-the-art covert surveillance equipment. There's a slippery Zing, a graceful Zing, and a Zing who runs as fast as a bus. But most significant of … Continue reading Book Review: I Have a Bed Made of Buttermilk Pancakes by Jaclyn Moriarty

Book Review: The Last Adventure of Napoleon Sunshine by Pascal Ruter

The Last Adventure of Napoleon Sunshine... About the Book: Set in Paris, a quirky novel about an inseparable grandfather and grandson who embark on a crazy adventure before life changes for good. For fans of THE KEEPER OF LOST THINGS and THREE THINGS ABOUT ELSIE. At the age of eighty-five my grandfather Napoleon decided he … Continue reading Book Review: The Last Adventure of Napoleon Sunshine by Pascal Ruter