#BRPreview Book Review: Maggie’s Going Nowhere by Rose Hartley

Maggie’s Going Nowhere… About the Book: Maggie’s Going Nowhere is a fierce and funny debut introducing a thoroughly relatable and offbeat heroine. If you enjoy Fleabag, you'll adore Maggie! 'A compulsive and hilarious read. In Maggie, Hartley has created one of those indelible characters of whom we must thoroughly disapprove and yet cannot help but … Continue reading #BRPreview Book Review: Maggie’s Going Nowhere by Rose Hartley

Book Review: Going Under by Sonia Henry

Going Under… About the Book: A darkly funny and sexy novel that blows the lid off the medical profession and life inside a hospital by a young doctor whose anonymous article about the pressures of trainee doctors went viral around the world. Dr Katarina 'Kitty' Holliday thought once she finished medical school and found gainful … Continue reading Book Review: Going Under by Sonia Henry

Book Review: I Have a Bed Made of Buttermilk Pancakes by Jaclyn Moriarty

I Have a Bed Made of Buttermilk Pancakes... About the Book: A fairy-tale for grown-ups. The Zing family lives in a misguided world of spell books, flying beach umbrellas, and state-of-the-art covert surveillance equipment. There's a slippery Zing, a graceful Zing, and a Zing who runs as fast as a bus. But most significant of … Continue reading Book Review: I Have a Bed Made of Buttermilk Pancakes by Jaclyn Moriarty

Book Review: The Last Adventure of Napoleon Sunshine by Pascal Ruter

The Last Adventure of Napoleon Sunshine... About the Book: Set in Paris, a quirky novel about an inseparable grandfather and grandson who embark on a crazy adventure before life changes for good. For fans of THE KEEPER OF LOST THINGS and THREE THINGS ABOUT ELSIE. At the age of eighty-five my grandfather Napoleon decided he … Continue reading Book Review: The Last Adventure of Napoleon Sunshine by Pascal Ruter

Book Review: The Bride Test by Helen Hoang

The Bride Test… About the Book: From the critically acclaimed author of The Kiss Quotient comes a romantic novel about love that crosses international borders and all boundaries of the heart... Khai Diep has no feelings. Well, he feels irritation when people move his things or contentment when ledgers balance down to the penny, but … Continue reading Book Review: The Bride Test by Helen Hoang

Book Review: The Sparkle Pages by Meg Bignell – #DNF

The Sparkle Pages... About the Book: A wonderfully original and heartfelt comic novel about one woman's mission to reignite the passion in her marriage - and rediscover herself. ‘Is marriage just a series of texts about where the children are and whether we need milk until one of you dies?’ Susannah Parks – wife, mother, … Continue reading Book Review: The Sparkle Pages by Meg Bignell – #DNF

New Release Book Review: How to be Second Best by Jessica Dettmann

How to be Second Best… About the Book: A hilarious and heart-warming debut that captures the dramas, delights and delirium of modern parenting. This is Marian Keyes meets Allison Pearson, with a dash of Caitlin Moran. Going from one child to two is never all that easy for a family, but when Emma's husband simultaneously … Continue reading New Release Book Review: How to be Second Best by Jessica Dettmann

Book Review: The Beguiled by Thomas Cullinan

The Beguiled… About the Book: A classic slice of Southern Gothic, shot through with psychological suspense. When an injured Union soldier is found in the Virginia woods as the Civil War rages, he is brought to the nearby Miss Martha Farnsworth Seminary for Young Ladies to recover. For the sheltered girls and their teachers, the … Continue reading Book Review: The Beguiled by Thomas Cullinan