New Release Book Review: We Must Be Brave by Frances Liardet

We Must Be Brave… About the Book: A novel about courage and kindness, hardship and friendship – and the astonishing power of love. December, 1940. As German bombs fall on Southampton, the city's residents flee to the surrounding villages. In Upton village, amid the chaos, newly-married Ellen Parr finds a girl sleeping, unclaimed at the … Continue reading New Release Book Review: We Must Be Brave by Frances Liardet

New Release Book Review: The Hidden by Mary Chamberlain

The Hidden... About the Book: Dora Simon is comfortable in her retirement, indulging her interests in gardening and music. Joe O'Cleary is content on the Jersey farm he helped rebuild with its owner, Geoffrey Laurent, with time to pursue his life-long hobby of birdwatching. But their worlds are shattered by the arrival of Barbara Hummel, … Continue reading New Release Book Review: The Hidden by Mary Chamberlain

New Release Book Review: The Familiars by Stacey Halls

The Familiars… About the Book: Fleetwood Shuttleworth is 17 years old, married, and pregnant for the fourth time. But as the mistress at Gawthorpe Hall, she still has no living child, and her husband Richard is anxious for an heir. When Fleetwood finds a letter she isn't supposed to read from the doctor who delivered … Continue reading New Release Book Review: The Familiars by Stacey Halls

New Release Book Review: The Truths and Triumphs of Grace Atherton by Anstey Harris

The Truths and Triumphs of Grace Atherton... About the Book: The most memorable moments of Grace Atherton’s life have always been remembered as though set to music. The simple melody of running her violin shop, and her love affair with David, with their wonderful interludes in Paris, which feels like there is a full-blown orchestra … Continue reading New Release Book Review: The Truths and Triumphs of Grace Atherton by Anstey Harris

New Release Book Review: The Way of All Flesh by Ambrose Parry

The Way of All Flesh… About the Book: A vivid and gripping historical crime novel set in 19th century Edinburgh, from husband-and-wife writing team Chris Brookmyre and Marisa Haetzman. Edinburgh, 1847. City of Medicine, Money, Murder. Young women are being discovered dead across the Old Town, all having suffered similarly gruesome ends. In the New … Continue reading New Release Book Review: The Way of All Flesh by Ambrose Parry

New Release Book Review: The Turn of Midnight by Minette Walters

The Turn of Midnight... About the Book: As the year 1349 approaches, the Black Death continues its devastating course across England. In Dorseteshire, the quarantined people of Develish question whether they are the only survivors. Guided by their beloved young mistress, Lady Anne, they wait, knowing that when their dwindling stores are finally gone they … Continue reading New Release Book Review: The Turn of Midnight by Minette Walters

New Release Book Review: Frieda by Annabel Abbs

Frieda: A Novel of the Real Lady Chatterley… About the Book: The moving story of Frieda von Richthofen, wife of D.H. Lawrence - and the real-life inspiration for Lady Chatterley's Lover, a novel banned for more than 30 years Germany, 1907. Frieda, daughter of aristocrat Baron von Richthofen, has rashly married English professor Ernest Weekley. … Continue reading New Release Book Review: Frieda by Annabel Abbs

New Release Book Review: The Psychology of Time Travel by Kate Mascarenhas

The Psychology of Time Travel… About the Book: A time travel murder mystery from a brilliantly original new voice. Perfect for readers of Naomi Alderman's The Power and Emily St John Mandel's Station Eleven. 1967. Four female scientists invent a time travel machine. They are on the cusp of fame: the pioneers who opened the … Continue reading New Release Book Review: The Psychology of Time Travel by Kate Mascarenhas