New Release Book Review: A Well-Behaved Woman by Therese Anne Fowler

A Well-Behaved Woman: a novel of the Vanderbilts... About the Book: OUTSPOKEN. BRAVE. BRILLIANT. FIERCE. Alva Smith, her Southern family destitute after the Civil War, married into one of America's great Gilded Age dynasties: the newly wealthy but socially shunned Vanderbilts. Ignored by New York's old-money circles and determined to win respect, she designed and … Continue reading New Release Book Review: A Well-Behaved Woman by Therese Anne Fowler

New Release Book Review: The Way of All Flesh by Ambrose Parry

The Way of All Flesh… About the Book: A vivid and gripping historical crime novel set in 19th century Edinburgh, from husband-and-wife writing team Chris Brookmyre and Marisa Haetzman. Edinburgh, 1847. City of Medicine, Money, Murder. Young women are being discovered dead across the Old Town, all having suffered similarly gruesome ends. In the New … Continue reading New Release Book Review: The Way of All Flesh by Ambrose Parry

New Release Book Review: Lillian’s Eden by Cheryl Adam

Lillian's Eden... About the Book: In Lillian’s Eden, debut novelist Cheryl Adam takes the reader to Australian rural post-war life through the life of a family struggling to survive. With their farm destroyed by fire, Lillian agrees to the demands of her philandering, violent husband to move to the coastal town of Eden to help … Continue reading New Release Book Review: Lillian’s Eden by Cheryl Adam

New Release Book Review: The Turn of Midnight by Minette Walters

The Turn of Midnight... About the Book: As the year 1349 approaches, the Black Death continues its devastating course across England. In Dorseteshire, the quarantined people of Develish question whether they are the only survivors. Guided by their beloved young mistress, Lady Anne, they wait, knowing that when their dwindling stores are finally gone they … Continue reading New Release Book Review: The Turn of Midnight by Minette Walters

New Release Book Review: The Kinship of Secrets by Eugenia Kim

The Kinship of Secrets... About the Book: The riveting story of two sisters, one raised in the United States, the other in South Korea, and the family that bound them together even as the Korean War kept them apart. In 1948 Najin and Calvin Cho, with their young daughter Miran, travel from South Korea to … Continue reading New Release Book Review: The Kinship of Secrets by Eugenia Kim

New Release Book Review: The Invitation by Belinda Alexandra

The Invitation… About the Book: In Gilded Age New York, money buys everything. What is your price? Sometimes the ties that bind are the most dangerous of all... Paris, 1899. Emma Lacasse has been estranged from her older sister for nearly twenty years, since Caroline married a wealthy American and left France. So when Emma … Continue reading New Release Book Review: The Invitation by Belinda Alexandra

Book Review: The Beguiled by Thomas Cullinan

The Beguiled… About the Book: A classic slice of Southern Gothic, shot through with psychological suspense. When an injured Union soldier is found in the Virginia woods as the Civil War rages, he is brought to the nearby Miss Martha Farnsworth Seminary for Young Ladies to recover. For the sheltered girls and their teachers, the … Continue reading Book Review: The Beguiled by Thomas Cullinan

New Release Book Review: The Witches of St Petersburg by Imogen Edwards-Jones

The Witches of St Petersburg... About the Book: Brimming with black magic, sex and intrigue, a gorgeous historical novel for fans of Dinah Jefferies and Santa Montefiore. The Russian Empire is on the verge of collapse. Revolution is in the air. The starving stalk the streets of St Petersburg and yet the Imperial Court still … Continue reading New Release Book Review: The Witches of St Petersburg by Imogen Edwards-Jones