New Release Book Review: The Way of All Flesh by Ambrose Parry

The Way of All Flesh… About the Book: A vivid and gripping historical crime novel set in 19th century Edinburgh, from husband-and-wife writing team Chris Brookmyre and Marisa Haetzman. Edinburgh, 1847. City of Medicine, Money, Murder. Young women are being discovered dead across the Old Town, all having suffered similarly gruesome ends. In the New … Continue reading New Release Book Review: The Way of All Flesh by Ambrose Parry

New Release Book Review: The Kinship of Secrets by Eugenia Kim

The Kinship of Secrets... About the Book: The riveting story of two sisters, one raised in the United States, the other in South Korea, and the family that bound them together even as the Korean War kept them apart. In 1948 Najin and Calvin Cho, with their young daughter Miran, travel from South Korea to … Continue reading New Release Book Review: The Kinship of Secrets by Eugenia Kim

New Release Book Review: Evening in Paradise by Lucia Berlin

Evening in Paradise... About the Book: The publication of A Manual for Cleaning Women, Lucia Berlin’s dazzling collection of short stories, marked the rediscovery of a writer whose talent had gone unremarked by many. The incredible reaction to Lucia’s writing – her ability to capture the beauty and ugliness that coexist in everyday lives, the … Continue reading New Release Book Review: Evening in Paradise by Lucia Berlin

New Release Book Review: The Witches of St Petersburg by Imogen Edwards-Jones

The Witches of St Petersburg... About the Book: Brimming with black magic, sex and intrigue, a gorgeous historical novel for fans of Dinah Jefferies and Santa Montefiore. The Russian Empire is on the verge of collapse. Revolution is in the air. The starving stalk the streets of St Petersburg and yet the Imperial Court still … Continue reading New Release Book Review: The Witches of St Petersburg by Imogen Edwards-Jones

Book Review: The Year that Changed Everything by Cathy Kelly

The Year that Changed Everything... About the Book: Three women, three birthdays, one year that will change everything... Ginger isn't spending her thirtieth the way she would have planned. Tonight might be the first night of the rest of her life - or a total disaster. Sam is finally pregnant after years of trying. When … Continue reading Book Review: The Year that Changed Everything by Cathy Kelly

New Release Book Review: A Spark of Light by Jodi Picoult

A Spark of Light... About the Book: When Vonita opened the doors of the Center that morning, she had no idea that it would be for the last time. Wren has missed school to come to the Center, the sole surviving women's reproductive health clinic in the state, chaperoned by her aunt, Bex. Olive told … Continue reading New Release Book Review: A Spark of Light by Jodi Picoult

New Release Book Review: The Boneless Mercies by April Genevieve Tucholke

The Boneless Mercies... About the Book: They called us the Mercies, or sometimes the Boneless Mercies. They said we were shadows, ghosts, and if you touched our skin we dissolved into smoke ... Frey, Ovie, Juniper, and Runa are Boneless Mercies – death-traders, hired to kill quickly, quietly and mercifully. It is a job for … Continue reading New Release Book Review: The Boneless Mercies by April Genevieve Tucholke

New Release Book Review: Frieda by Annabel Abbs

Frieda: A Novel of the Real Lady Chatterley… About the Book: The moving story of Frieda von Richthofen, wife of D.H. Lawrence - and the real-life inspiration for Lady Chatterley's Lover, a novel banned for more than 30 years Germany, 1907. Frieda, daughter of aristocrat Baron von Richthofen, has rashly married English professor Ernest Weekley. … Continue reading New Release Book Review: Frieda by Annabel Abbs

New Release Book Review: One Day in December by Josie Silver

One Day in December... About the Book: Laurie doesn't believe in love at first sight. Life isn't a scene from Love Actually, after all. But then, through a bus window one snowy December day, she sees him. There's one glorious moment when their eyes meet...and then her bus drives away. Laurie thinks she'll never see … Continue reading New Release Book Review: One Day in December by Josie Silver