New Release Book Review: One Day in December by Josie Silver

One Day in December... About the Book: Laurie doesn't believe in love at first sight. Life isn't a scene from Love Actually, after all. But then, through a bus window one snowy December day, she sees him. There's one glorious moment when their eyes meet...and then her bus drives away. Laurie thinks she'll never see … Continue reading New Release Book Review: One Day in December by Josie Silver

New Release Book Review: The Psychology of Time Travel by Kate Mascarenhas

The Psychology of Time Travel… About the Book: A time travel murder mystery from a brilliantly original new voice. Perfect for readers of Naomi Alderman's The Power and Emily St John Mandel's Station Eleven. 1967. Four female scientists invent a time travel machine. They are on the cusp of fame: the pioneers who opened the … Continue reading New Release Book Review: The Psychology of Time Travel by Kate Mascarenhas

New Release Book Review: This Child of Ours by Sadie Pearse

This Child of Ours... About the Book: You know what's best for your child. Don't you? Riley Pieterson is an adventurous girl with lots of questions. There's plenty she doesn't know yet; what a human brain looks like. All the constellations in the night sky. Why others can't see her the way she sees herself. … Continue reading New Release Book Review: This Child of Ours by Sadie Pearse

New Release Book Review: Notes on a Nervous Planet by Matt Haig

Notes on a Nervous Planet... About the Book: The world is messing with our minds. Rates of stress and anxiety are rising. A fast, nervous planet is creating fast and nervous lives. We are more connected, yet feel more alone. And we are encouraged to worry about everything from world politics to our body mass … Continue reading New Release Book Review: Notes on a Nervous Planet by Matt Haig

New Release Book Review: Find You in the Dark by Nathan Ripley

Find You In The Dark... About the Book: In this chilling and disquieting debut thriller perfect for fans of Caroline Kepnes’s Hidden Bodies and Jeff Lindsay’s Dexter series, a family man with a habit of digging up the past catches the attention of a serial killer who wants anything but his secrets uncovered. For years, … Continue reading New Release Book Review: Find You in the Dark by Nathan Ripley

New Release Book Review: The Imperial Tea Party by Frances Welch

The Imperial Tea Party... About the Book: Written with Frances Welch’s famously waspish eye for detail, this is another fascinating, percipient, revelatory and often quite hilariously funny book from the master of Russian history. Russia and Britain were never natural bedfellows. But the marriage, in 1894, of Queen Victoria’s favourite granddaughter, Alicky, to the Tsarevich … Continue reading New Release Book Review: The Imperial Tea Party by Frances Welch

Book A Day: The Last Letter From Your Lover by Jojo Moyes

Day 5: The Last Letter From Your Lover   This was an absolutely beautiful novel about enduring love and listening to your heart. I enjoyed reading about the lives of both of the characters, Jennifer and Ellie, as well as Anthony and Rory, their respective love interests. These characters had real feeling, flaws and strengths; … Continue reading Book A Day: The Last Letter From Your Lover by Jojo Moyes

New Release Book Review: A Room at the Manor by Julie Shackman

A Room at the Manor... About the Book: When her Maltese love affair turns sour, Lara McDonald returns to her quiet Scottish hometown of Fairview heartbroken, yet determined - instead of looking for another PR position, she decides to follow her dream of baking. She impulsively takes the first job offered and finds herself working … Continue reading New Release Book Review: A Room at the Manor by Julie Shackman