Book Review: The First Time Lauren Pailing Died by Alyson Rudd

The First Time Lauren Pailing Died... About the Book: Lauren Pailing is born in the sixties, and a child of the seventies. She is thirteen years old the first time she dies. Lauren Pailing is a teenager in the eighties, becomes a Londoner in the nineties. And each time she dies, new lives begin for … Continue reading Book Review: The First Time Lauren Pailing Died by Alyson Rudd

Book Review: Normal People by Sally Rooney

Normal People... About the Book: Winner: 2019 Novel of the Year and Book of the Year at the British Book Awards, and the 2018 Costa Novel Award: Sally Rooney set the books world buzzing in 2017 with her debut Conversations With Friends. Normal People is a girl-meets-boy story with a difference, interrogating the difficulties of … Continue reading Book Review: Normal People by Sally Rooney

Book Review: The Last Adventure of Napoleon Sunshine by Pascal Ruter

The Last Adventure of Napoleon Sunshine... About the Book: Set in Paris, a quirky novel about an inseparable grandfather and grandson who embark on a crazy adventure before life changes for good. For fans of THE KEEPER OF LOST THINGS and THREE THINGS ABOUT ELSIE. At the age of eighty-five my grandfather Napoleon decided he … Continue reading Book Review: The Last Adventure of Napoleon Sunshine by Pascal Ruter

Book Review: Three Ways To Disappear by Katy Yocom

Three Ways To Disappear... About the Book: Leaving behind a nomadic and dangerous career as a journalist, Sarah DeVaughan returns to India, the country of her childhood and a place of unspeakable family tragedy, to help preserve the endangered Bengal tigers. Meanwhile, at home in Kentucky, her sister, Quinn—also deeply scarred by the past and … Continue reading Book Review: Three Ways To Disappear by Katy Yocom

Book Review: Jane Seymour, The Haunted Queen by Alison Weir

Six Tudor Queens: Jane Seymour, The Haunted Queen... About the Book: The third stunning novel in the Six Tudor Queens series by foremost and beloved historian Alison Weir. THE WOMAN HAUNTED BY THE FATE OF HER PREDECESSOR. Eleven days after the death of Anne Boleyn, Jane is dressing for her wedding to the King. She … Continue reading Book Review: Jane Seymour, The Haunted Queen by Alison Weir

Book Review: Fed Up – Navigating and redefining emotional labour for good by Gemma Hartley

Fed Up... About the Book: Gemma Hartley wrote an article in Harper's Bazaar in September 2017 called 'Women Aren't Nags - We're Just Fed Up', which instantly went viral. The piece, and this book, is about 'emotional labour', i.e. the unpaid, often unnoticed work, done by women, that goes into keeping everyone comfortable and happy. … Continue reading Book Review: Fed Up – Navigating and redefining emotional labour for good by Gemma Hartley

Book Review: You’ll Never See Me Again by Lesley Pearse

You’ll Never See Me Again... About the Book: You have to keep running if you want to survive. When her husband returns shell-shocked and broken from the Great War and his mother makes her life a misery, Betty Wellow discovers how bitter and hard life can truly be. But it is not until a devastating … Continue reading Book Review: You’ll Never See Me Again by Lesley Pearse