Book Review: The Last Adventure of Napoleon Sunshine by Pascal Ruter

The Last Adventure of Napoleon Sunshine... About the Book: Set in Paris, a quirky novel about an inseparable grandfather and grandson who embark on a crazy adventure before life changes for good. For fans of THE KEEPER OF LOST THINGS and THREE THINGS ABOUT ELSIE. At the age of eighty-five my grandfather Napoleon decided he … Continue reading Book Review: The Last Adventure of Napoleon Sunshine by Pascal Ruter

Book Review (kind of, more like a chapter): White Horses by Rachael Treasure

White Horses (Chapter One)... About the Book: From one of Australia's bestselling and much-loved authors comes a sweeping, powerful story of a young woman who has to overcome terrible loss and trauma to find the courage to live life on her terms. Following the disappearance of her mother when she was just a young child, … Continue reading Book Review (kind of, more like a chapter): White Horses by Rachael Treasure

Six Degrees of Separation from The Light Between Oceans to Sea Glass…

A new month means a new round of #6degrees and this month’s starting book is a wildcard – the book each of us ended with in July. You can find the details and rules of the #6degrees meme at booksaremyfavouriteandbest, but in a nutshell, everyone has the same starting book and from there, you connect … Continue reading Six Degrees of Separation from The Light Between Oceans to Sea Glass…

Book Review: The Boy with Blue Trousers by Carol Jones

The Boy with Blue Trousers... About the Book: 1856, China In the mulberry groves of the Pearl River Delta, eighteen-year-old Little Cat carries a terrible secret. And so, in disguise as a boy in blue trousers, she makes the long and difficult passage to Australia, a faraway land of untold riches where it is said … Continue reading Book Review: The Boy with Blue Trousers by Carol Jones

Book Review: Three Ways To Disappear by Katy Yocom

Three Ways To Disappear... About the Book: Leaving behind a nomadic and dangerous career as a journalist, Sarah DeVaughan returns to India, the country of her childhood and a place of unspeakable family tragedy, to help preserve the endangered Bengal tigers. Meanwhile, at home in Kentucky, her sister, Quinn—also deeply scarred by the past and … Continue reading Book Review: Three Ways To Disappear by Katy Yocom

Book Review: What Empty Things Are These by J. L. Crozier

What Empty Things Are These... About the Book: In 1860s Britain there is nothing unusual in a man beating his wife. When George Hadley’s aggression triggers his own stroke and coma, his wife discovers all she thinks of as hers is to pass to her young son Toby. Adelaide seems as powerless as her ladies’ … Continue reading Book Review: What Empty Things Are These by J. L. Crozier