Book A Day: Interview with a Vampire by Anne Rice

Day 12: Interview with a Vampire This is a long-time favourite of mine. Steeped in old world atmosphere with such memorable characters: Lestat, with his flamboyance, his utter selfishness, his endless attention seeking, and his ultimate cruelty; Claudia, the ancient child who could never grow up, her love for Louis as fierce as her hatred … Continue reading Book A Day: Interview with a Vampire by Anne Rice

New Release Book Review: Isobel’s Promise by Maggie Christensen

Isobel’s Promise… About the Book: A promise for the future. A threat from the past. Can Bel find happiness? Back in Sydney after her aunt’s death, sixty-five year-old Bel Davison is making plans to sell up her home and business and return to Scotland where she has promised to spend the rest of her life … Continue reading New Release Book Review: Isobel’s Promise by Maggie Christensen

New Release Book Review: Hey Brother by Jarrah Dundler

Hey Brother... About the Book: Before leaving for war in Afghanistan, Shaun Black gives his little brother Trysten a mission of his own. Keep out of trouble. Trysten tries, but with Mum hitting the bottle harder than ever and his dad not helping, Trysten responds the only way he knows how, with his fists - … Continue reading New Release Book Review: Hey Brother by Jarrah Dundler

New Release Book Review: The Botanist’s Daughter by Kayte Nunn

The Botanist's Daughter... About the Book: In Victorian England, headstrong adventuress Elizabeth takes up her late father's quest for a rare, miraculous plant. She faces a perilous sea voyage, unforeseen dangers and treachery that threatens her entire family. In present-day Australia, Anna finds a mysterious metal box containing a sketchbook of dazzling watercolours, a photograph … Continue reading New Release Book Review: The Botanist’s Daughter by Kayte Nunn

New Release Book Review: Find You in the Dark by Nathan Ripley

Find You In The Dark... About the Book: In this chilling and disquieting debut thriller perfect for fans of Caroline Kepnes’s Hidden Bodies and Jeff Lindsay’s Dexter series, a family man with a habit of digging up the past catches the attention of a serial killer who wants anything but his secrets uncovered. For years, … Continue reading New Release Book Review: Find You in the Dark by Nathan Ripley

Book A Day: Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban by J.K. Rowling

Day 9: Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban I do love the Harry Potter series, the books just as much as the movies, and of course, I read the books first! The Prisoner of Azkaban is my favourite out of all of the books, and funnily enough, the movie is my favourite as well. … Continue reading Book A Day: Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban by J.K. Rowling

New Release Book Review: The Imperial Tea Party by Frances Welch

The Imperial Tea Party... About the Book: Written with Frances Welch’s famously waspish eye for detail, this is another fascinating, percipient, revelatory and often quite hilariously funny book from the master of Russian history. Russia and Britain were never natural bedfellows. But the marriage, in 1894, of Queen Victoria’s favourite granddaughter, Alicky, to the Tsarevich … Continue reading New Release Book Review: The Imperial Tea Party by Frances Welch

New Release Book Review: A Superior Spectre by Angela Meyer

A Superior Spectre... About the Book: Jeff is dying. Haunted by memories and grappling with the shame of his desires, he runs away to remote Scotland with a piece of experimental tech that allows him to enter the mind of someone in the past. Instructed to only use it three times, Jeff – self-indulgent, isolated … Continue reading New Release Book Review: A Superior Spectre by Angela Meyer