Book Review: The Ocean at the End of the Lane by Neil Gaiman

The Ocean at the End of the Lane... About the Book: From New York Times bestselling writer Neil Gaiman, comes a novel of memory, magic and survival, about the power of stories and the darkness inside each of us. A special Christmas edition of the bestseller. It began for our narrator forty years ago when … Continue reading Book Review: The Ocean at the End of the Lane by Neil Gaiman

Book Review: Matters of the Heart by Fiona Palmer

Matters of the Heart... About the Book: Western Australia, 2019: The Bennets are a farming family struggling to make ends meet. Lizzy, passionate about working the land, is determined to save the farm. Spirited and independent, she has little patience for her mother's focus on finding a suitable man for each of her five daughters. … Continue reading Book Review: Matters of the Heart by Fiona Palmer

Book Review: The Last Adventure of Napoleon Sunshine by Pascal Ruter

The Last Adventure of Napoleon Sunshine... About the Book: Set in Paris, a quirky novel about an inseparable grandfather and grandson who embark on a crazy adventure before life changes for good. For fans of THE KEEPER OF LOST THINGS and THREE THINGS ABOUT ELSIE. At the age of eighty-five my grandfather Napoleon decided he … Continue reading Book Review: The Last Adventure of Napoleon Sunshine by Pascal Ruter

Book Review: Jane Seymour, The Haunted Queen by Alison Weir

Six Tudor Queens: Jane Seymour, The Haunted Queen... About the Book: The third stunning novel in the Six Tudor Queens series by foremost and beloved historian Alison Weir. THE WOMAN HAUNTED BY THE FATE OF HER PREDECESSOR. Eleven days after the death of Anne Boleyn, Jane is dressing for her wedding to the King. She … Continue reading Book Review: Jane Seymour, The Haunted Queen by Alison Weir

Book Review: Fed Up – Navigating and redefining emotional labour for good by Gemma Hartley

Fed Up... About the Book: Gemma Hartley wrote an article in Harper's Bazaar in September 2017 called 'Women Aren't Nags - We're Just Fed Up', which instantly went viral. The piece, and this book, is about 'emotional labour', i.e. the unpaid, often unnoticed work, done by women, that goes into keeping everyone comfortable and happy. … Continue reading Book Review: Fed Up – Navigating and redefining emotional labour for good by Gemma Hartley