Book Review: Matters of the Heart by Fiona Palmer

Matters of the Heart... About the Book: Western Australia, 2019: The Bennets are a farming family struggling to make ends meet. Lizzy, passionate about working the land, is determined to save the farm. Spirited and independent, she has little patience for her mother's focus on finding a suitable man for each of her five daughters. … Continue reading Book Review: Matters of the Heart by Fiona Palmer

Book Review: The Last Adventure of Napoleon Sunshine by Pascal Ruter

The Last Adventure of Napoleon Sunshine... About the Book: Set in Paris, a quirky novel about an inseparable grandfather and grandson who embark on a crazy adventure before life changes for good. For fans of THE KEEPER OF LOST THINGS and THREE THINGS ABOUT ELSIE. At the age of eighty-five my grandfather Napoleon decided he … Continue reading Book Review: The Last Adventure of Napoleon Sunshine by Pascal Ruter

Book Review: Jane Seymour, The Haunted Queen by Alison Weir

Six Tudor Queens: Jane Seymour, The Haunted Queen... About the Book: The third stunning novel in the Six Tudor Queens series by foremost and beloved historian Alison Weir. THE WOMAN HAUNTED BY THE FATE OF HER PREDECESSOR. Eleven days after the death of Anne Boleyn, Jane is dressing for her wedding to the King. She … Continue reading Book Review: Jane Seymour, The Haunted Queen by Alison Weir

Book Review: Fed Up – Navigating and redefining emotional labour for good by Gemma Hartley

Fed Up... About the Book: Gemma Hartley wrote an article in Harper's Bazaar in September 2017 called 'Women Aren't Nags - We're Just Fed Up', which instantly went viral. The piece, and this book, is about 'emotional labour', i.e. the unpaid, often unnoticed work, done by women, that goes into keeping everyone comfortable and happy. … Continue reading Book Review: Fed Up – Navigating and redefining emotional labour for good by Gemma Hartley

Book Review: The Forgotten Letters Of Esther Durrant by Kayte Nunn

The Forgotten Letters Of Esther Durrant... About the Book: 1951. Esther Durrant, a young mother, is committed to an isolated mental asylum by her husband. Run by a pioneering psychiatrist, the hospital is at first Esther's prison but soon becomes her refuge. 2018. Free-spirited marine scientist Rachel Parker embarks on a research posting in the … Continue reading Book Review: The Forgotten Letters Of Esther Durrant by Kayte Nunn

Book Review: Cape May by Chip Cheek

Cape May... About the Book: SEPTEMBER 1957 Henry and Effie, young newlyweds from Georgia, arrive in Cape May, New Jersey, for their honeymoon. It's the end of the season and the town is deserted. As they tentatively discover each other, they begin to realize that everyday married life might be disappointingly different from their happily-ever-after … Continue reading Book Review: Cape May by Chip Cheek