New Release Book Review: The Truths and Triumphs of Grace Atherton by Anstey Harris

The Truths and Triumphs of Grace Atherton... About the Book: The most memorable moments of Grace Atherton’s life have always been remembered as though set to music. The simple melody of running her violin shop, and her love affair with David, with their wonderful interludes in Paris, which feels like there is a full-blown orchestra … Continue reading New Release Book Review: The Truths and Triumphs of Grace Atherton by Anstey Harris

New Release Book Review: The Way of All Flesh by Ambrose Parry

The Way of All Flesh… About the Book: A vivid and gripping historical crime novel set in 19th century Edinburgh, from husband-and-wife writing team Chris Brookmyre and Marisa Haetzman. Edinburgh, 1847. City of Medicine, Money, Murder. Young women are being discovered dead across the Old Town, all having suffered similarly gruesome ends. In the New … Continue reading New Release Book Review: The Way of All Flesh by Ambrose Parry

New Release Book Review: The Turn of Midnight by Minette Walters

The Turn of Midnight... About the Book: As the year 1349 approaches, the Black Death continues its devastating course across England. In Dorseteshire, the quarantined people of Develish question whether they are the only survivors. Guided by their beloved young mistress, Lady Anne, they wait, knowing that when their dwindling stores are finally gone they … Continue reading New Release Book Review: The Turn of Midnight by Minette Walters

New Release Book Review: Frieda by Annabel Abbs

Frieda: A Novel of the Real Lady Chatterley… About the Book: The moving story of Frieda von Richthofen, wife of D.H. Lawrence - and the real-life inspiration for Lady Chatterley's Lover, a novel banned for more than 30 years Germany, 1907. Frieda, daughter of aristocrat Baron von Richthofen, has rashly married English professor Ernest Weekley. … Continue reading New Release Book Review: Frieda by Annabel Abbs

New Release Book Review: One Day in December by Josie Silver

One Day in December... About the Book: Laurie doesn't believe in love at first sight. Life isn't a scene from Love Actually, after all. But then, through a bus window one snowy December day, she sees him. There's one glorious moment when their eyes meet...and then her bus drives away. Laurie thinks she'll never see … Continue reading New Release Book Review: One Day in December by Josie Silver

New Release Book Review: The Psychology of Time Travel by Kate Mascarenhas

The Psychology of Time Travel… About the Book: A time travel murder mystery from a brilliantly original new voice. Perfect for readers of Naomi Alderman's The Power and Emily St John Mandel's Station Eleven. 1967. Four female scientists invent a time travel machine. They are on the cusp of fame: the pioneers who opened the … Continue reading New Release Book Review: The Psychology of Time Travel by Kate Mascarenhas

New Release Book Review: This Child of Ours by Sadie Pearse

This Child of Ours... About the Book: You know what's best for your child. Don't you? Riley Pieterson is an adventurous girl with lots of questions. There's plenty she doesn't know yet; what a human brain looks like. All the constellations in the night sky. Why others can't see her the way she sees herself. … Continue reading New Release Book Review: This Child of Ours by Sadie Pearse

New Release Book Review: Notes on a Nervous Planet by Matt Haig

Notes on a Nervous Planet... About the Book: The world is messing with our minds. Rates of stress and anxiety are rising. A fast, nervous planet is creating fast and nervous lives. We are more connected, yet feel more alone. And we are encouraged to worry about everything from world politics to our body mass … Continue reading New Release Book Review: Notes on a Nervous Planet by Matt Haig