Book Review: Just One Wish by Rachael Johns

Just One Wish... About the Book: Three women, three secrets, one life-changing journey. Alice has always been a trailblazer as a scientist, activist and mother. She knew her choices would involve sacrifices, but now, on the eve of her eightieth birthday, she's beginning to wonder if she's sacrificed too much. Alice's daughter, Sappho, rebelled against … Continue reading Book Review: Just One Wish by Rachael Johns

Book Review: Invented Lives by Andrea Goldsmith

Invented Lives... About the Book: Knowing what you want is hard. Accepting what is possible is harder still. It is the mid-1980s. In Australia, stay-at-home wives jostle with want-it-all feminists, while AIDS threatens the sexual freedom of everyone. On the other side of the world, the Soviet bloc is in turmoil. Mikhail Gorbachev has been … Continue reading Book Review: Invented Lives by Andrea Goldsmith

Book Review: Cross My Heart by Pamela Cook

Cross My Heart… About the Book: When a promise kept means a life is broke… Tessa De Santis’s child-free marriage in inner-city Sydney is ordered and comfortable, and she likes it that way. When tragedy strikes and her childhood friend Skye Whittaker dies, Tess is bound to honour a promise to become foster-mother to Skye’s … Continue reading Book Review: Cross My Heart by Pamela Cook

Series Feature: The Belleville Family Saga by J Mary Masters

My Thoughts: Spanning three books and set from 1942 through to the 1950s, the Belleville family series is classic Australian town and country drama, with a distinctive atmosphere of bygone days. Dramatic and absorbing, this series will take you on an emotional journey through the lives of one family, offering up a true saga opportunity … Continue reading Series Feature: The Belleville Family Saga by J Mary Masters

Book Review: The Last Adventure of Napoleon Sunshine by Pascal Ruter

The Last Adventure of Napoleon Sunshine... About the Book: Set in Paris, a quirky novel about an inseparable grandfather and grandson who embark on a crazy adventure before life changes for good. For fans of THE KEEPER OF LOST THINGS and THREE THINGS ABOUT ELSIE. At the age of eighty-five my grandfather Napoleon decided he … Continue reading Book Review: The Last Adventure of Napoleon Sunshine by Pascal Ruter

Book Review: Allegra in Three Parts by Suzanne Daniel

Allegra in Three Parts… About the Book: ‘I can split myself in two... something I have to do because of Joy and Matilde. They are my grandmothers and I love them both and they totally love me but they can't stand each other.’ Eleven-year-old Allegra shuttles between her grandmothers who live next door to one … Continue reading Book Review: Allegra in Three Parts by Suzanne Daniel