Book Review: Springtime – A Ghost Story by Michelle de Kretser

Springtime... About the Book: 'Picking up her pace, Frances saw a woman in the shadowy depths of the garden. She wore a wide hat and a trailing pink dress; a white hand emerged from her sleeve. There came upon Frances a sensation that sometimes overtook her when she was looking at a painting: space was … Continue reading Book Review: Springtime – A Ghost Story by Michelle de Kretser

Book Review: Bone China by Laura Purcell

Bone China... About the Book: Consumption has ravaged Louise Pinecroft's family, leaving her and her father alone and heartbroken. But Dr Pinecroft has plans for a revolutionary experiment: convinced that sea air will prove to be the cure his wife and children needed, he arranges to house a group of prisoners suffering from the same … Continue reading Book Review: Bone China by Laura Purcell

The Classics Eight: Macbeth by William Shakespeare

My daughter recently had to study Macbeth for year 12 senior English, as I had done twenty-five years ago. The assessment itself was essentially unchanged: a monologue presentation followed by an exam. Macbeth is my favourite of all Shakespeare's works so I was more than happy to revisit the play as a means of helping … Continue reading The Classics Eight: Macbeth by William Shakespeare

Bookish TV in Review: Picnic at Hanging Rock

Australian drama series (2018) Picnic at Hanging Rock… When three schoolgirls and a teacher from Appleyard College disappear on Valentine's Day in 1900, the event has a far-reaching impact on the rest of the school, as well as the nearby township. People quickly come up with theories about the disappearances as paranoia sets in and … Continue reading Bookish TV in Review: Picnic at Hanging Rock

New Release Book Review: The Familiars by Stacey Halls

The Familiars… About the Book: Fleetwood Shuttleworth is 17 years old, married, and pregnant for the fourth time. But as the mistress at Gawthorpe Hall, she still has no living child, and her husband Richard is anxious for an heir. When Fleetwood finds a letter she isn't supposed to read from the doctor who delivered … Continue reading New Release Book Review: The Familiars by Stacey Halls

New Release Book Review: The Witches of St Petersburg by Imogen Edwards-Jones

The Witches of St Petersburg... About the Book: Brimming with black magic, sex and intrigue, a gorgeous historical novel for fans of Dinah Jefferies and Santa Montefiore. The Russian Empire is on the verge of collapse. Revolution is in the air. The starving stalk the streets of St Petersburg and yet the Imperial Court still … Continue reading New Release Book Review: The Witches of St Petersburg by Imogen Edwards-Jones

New Release Book Review: Restoration – Verity Fassbinder Book 3 by Angela Slatter

Restoration… About the Book: Walking between the worlds has always been dangerous - but this time V's facing the loss of all she holds dear. Verity Fassbinder thought no boss could be worse than her perfectionist ex-boyfriend - until she grudgingly agreed to work for a psychotic fallen angel. And dealing with a career change … Continue reading New Release Book Review: Restoration – Verity Fassbinder Book 3 by Angela Slatter