Quick Shots Book Review: The Cry (TV tie-in) by Helen FitzGerald

The Cry…

About the Book:

Coming to ABC TV, the 4-part BBC TV drama, The Cry by Helen FitzGerald brings a parent’s worst nightmare to vivid life.

When a baby goes missing on a lonely roadside in Australia, it sets off a police investigation that will become a media sensation and dinner-table talk across the world.

Lies, rumours and guilt snowball, causing the parents, Joanna and Alistair, to slowly turn against each other.

Finally Joanna starts thinking the unthinkable: could the truth be even more terrible than she suspected? And what will it take to make things right?

Perfect for fans of Julia Crouch, Sophie Hannah and Laura Lippman, The Cry was widely acclaimed as one of the best psychological thrillers of the year. There’s a gripping moral dilemma at its heart and characters who will keep you guessing on every page.


My Thoughts:

‘There was a long silence before she said: “This is wrong. I’m not going to do it.” Alistair sat on the bed beside her and held her hand. “We lost our son. We don’t deserve to lose everything else as well. It’s not wrong. We’re not hurting anyone.”’

The Cry was a fantastic read. It’s the type of thriller that lets you think you know what’s happening until one innocent remark sees everything that came before turned on its head. With themes of guilt, grief, self-doubt, depression, and postnatal depression, it’s a concise novel that covers a lot of ground with precision and empathy. I liked and felt varying degrees of sympathy for both of the female protagonists, Joanna and Alexandra, and a whole lot of disdain for Alistair, a man who takes master manipulator to a whole new level.

‘She was going mad. She needed more than antidepressants. The line that connected her to him stuck to her like a shadow, stretching, holding her, then banging her off to her next position.’

The Cry has been re-released as a TV tie-in edition to accompany its adaptation into 4-part BBC drama, to air also on the ABC here in Australia. I am keen to see how this story pans out on the small screen. If it remains true to the novel, it is bound to be emotionally turbulent and utterly gripping.

🍵🍵🍵🍵


Thanks is extended to Allen and Unwin for providing me with a copy of The Cry for review.


About the Author:

Helen FitzGerald is the bestselling author of Dead Lovely (2007) and nine other adult and young adult thrillers, including My Last Confession (2009), The Donor (2011) and most recently The Cry (2013), which was longlisted for the Theakstons Old Peculier Crime Novel of the Year and the Guardian’s Not the Booker Prize. Helen has worked as a criminal justice social worker for over ten years. She is one of thirteen children and grew up in Victoria, Australia. She now lives in Glasgow with her husband and two children.


The Cry
Published by Faber
Released on 10th October 2018

One thought on “Quick Shots Book Review: The Cry (TV tie-in) by Helen FitzGerald

  1. Pingback: My Reading Life: #aww2018 Challenge Checkpoint 5 | Theresa Smith Writes

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s